Run

Each stride closer carried me farther from home.
Each footfall longed to be enveloped by pavement
but, unyielding, it jarred my feet back again, again
and again. I run, but I will never catch up.

Is that so bad? the wind whispers as I race through it.
I part the sea of atoms with my face and keep on.
That is my only answer. It laughs humorously,
leaving my silent ire to go play among the wheat fields.

Is it possible to miss the breeze? alone, I whispered back.
Each pace carried me away from the known, yes
but it was still bringing me somewhere. I suddenly found
each step was a joy, and there were many to count.

Leave a Reply

