Slimy

Beware the slimy monster
you told me, and I laughed
just a little nervous, searching
your eyes for a sign of mischief.
They were blue and cold with truth
as you said to stomp with all my might.

I was too old to believe such things
but my footfall hesitated as we
started to cross the rickety bridge.

I imagined the beast, hair matted
with grime an unknown shade of sin,
carelessly pacing the riverbed floor.
Waiting for a harmless victim,
too old to believe such nonsense,
to cross the bar undefended.

The surface of the water rippled ominously
and unbidden my body stomped, shaking
the loose bolts with each stride as I ran across.

Leave a Reply

