Kate Projects

I have a wonderful new job that allows me to work whenever I need to during the day as long as I complete a certain amount of hours per week. Katelyn remains a consistent napper, so thankfully I’ve been able to get most of my work done during those two times of day. I do sometimes miss having that free time to read, clean or get house projects done, though, and last Friday I fought my compulsive tendency to work ahead for this week and took her afternoon naptime to cross off a project from my ever-growing list.
 

Katelyn’s first birthday is coming up next month (!!!). For my first birthday I was given a doll that became the doll for my early years, so I thought it would be a fun tradition to give Kate (and any other girls we may have in the future) her first doll then, too. I found an adorable wooden doll bed at a garage sale for a few bucks, cleaned it up and painted it a dark brown to match the furniture in her room. I have a doll picked out which still needs to be purchased. Then I decided to use some of the leftover fabric I have from various projects in her room to make a little doll blanket.

 

I loved the blanket idea I found on this blog, and with a few tweaks to the project came up with my own version. I still don’t own a sewing machine so I had to stitch everything by hand. Even so, it only took two naps to complete. I’m sure it would take no time at all with a machine.

 
With “Daw” standing in until the doll makes her appearance, here are the before and after pictures:
 
Image
 
Image
 
 
 
One thought on “Kate Projects

Leave a Reply

